» USTA League Tennis

What's the Rule?



I grunt when I hit the ball; my opponent called it a hindrance.  What's the rule?
According to the Code:  A player should avoid grunting and making other loud noises.  Grunting and other loud noises may bother not only opponents but also players on other adjacent courts.   In an officiated match, you may seek the assistance of a referee or roving umpire who MAY treat grunting as a hindrance.  This could result in a let or loss of point.  From JB



I was hitting a backhand volley and 'carried' the ball - pushed the follow-through.  I called a carry on myself.  Was I correct? 
According to the Friend at Court:  Only when there is a definite and deliberate "second push" by the player does the shot become illegal.  "Deliberately" is the key word in this rule.  Two hits occcuring during a single continuous swing are not deemed a double hit.  The player makes the call on his/her own shot.  From EJ



Last year while playing in a USTA League Tennis 3.5 Super Senior doubles match a ball rolled from an adjacent court onto our court and landed near my partner. When no one on the court called a let to stop play a safety minded spectator yelled “There’s a stray ball on your court!” Can a spectator call a let? This spectator was concerned that one of the “not so young” players on the court would fall and sustain a serious injury! Can a spectator call a let? What is the rule?  "No spectator has a part in the match," according to The Code [Item 17]. No matter what the circumstances, even a dangerous situation as in this instance, all calls on the court (lets, line calls, double bounces) are up to the players. A ball rolling onto the court is both dangerous to the players on the side of the ball and a distraction to all of the players. In this case, it seems likely that at least one of the players saw the ball on the court and a let should have been called immediately!  From Suzanne, Saint Johnsbury